Drug Crimes – Possession and Distribution
Getting accused of a drug crime in Virginia, the punishments can be extremely brutal. Virginia mirrors government law in that it isolates drugs into “plans” in light of the level of addictiveness and the measure of legitimate therapeutic uses the drugs have. Timetable I tranquilizes is the most addictive and have the most punishments, and afterward, it goes down from that point. Marijuana is dealt with uniquely in contrast to different medications and has its particular laws and punishments, and won’t be examined here. There are penalties for keeping possession of a drug or involvement in the distribution of it. Following are the actions which will land you drug criminal charges.
• Possession
• Distribution
• Possession with intent to distribute
• Manufacturing
• Conspiracy
Drugs, frequently alluded to as “controlled hazardous substances,” fall into various classifications assigned by statute. These diverse charges likewise mean there are varieties in how a man is condemned for a drug case. It is illegal for a person to knowingly possess a controlled substance, obtained without a valid prescription. Section 18.2-250(A). The charges are as follows:
• Section 18.2-10(e) – Possessing a Schedule I or II controlled substance: Class 5 felony (1 to 10 years in jail OR at the will of a jury or the court trying the case, up to 12 months in prison or a fine of up to $2,500 or both
• Section 18.2-11(a) – Possessing a Schedule III controlled substance: Class 1 misdemeanor (up to 12 months in prison and a fine of $2,500 max or both
• Section 18.2-11(b) – Possessing a Schedule IV controlled substance: Class 2 misdemeanor (up to 6 months in prison and a fine of $1,000 max or both
• Section 18.2-11(c) – Possessing a Schedule V controlled substance: Class 3 misdemeanor (a fine of $500 max
• Section 18.2-11(d) – Possessing a Schedule VI controlled substance: Class 4 misdemeanor (a fine of $250 max
Drug Defense Attorneys in Virginia
If you have been accused of drug crimes in Virginia, you should contact an experienced drug defense attorney for help. Our experienced drug defense attorneys in Virginia can help guard you against the charges and additionally get the charges and punishments decreased. If you have been convicted of the crime for the first time or while being in probation period, you can contact us for an experienced drug defense attorney. Our lawyers comprehend that no two drug charges are the same, which is the reason we build up an exceptional, customized plan get ready for every customer. Your lawyer will walk you through the way toward battling a drug case, advising you about precisely what the arraignment needs to consider about your case. Call our firm today to figure out how a drug defense attorney can fight for you.

What is the penalty for first offense DUI in King William VA

This is demanded by many customers. First, we outline a 210 fashionable first az DWI: no fate, no twist, no passengers, no passengers, quickly retreated, we’ve collaborated with the officer, there’s no horrible field, no less than 0.14 grams / 210 liters of breath Do not test DWI, using quite accurate and crook statistics.

A typical sentence that will draw the attention of the judge in Virginia if it is determined to be responsible:

Alındı 90 days in prison, suspended in 90 days; $ 250 suspended up to $ 250; The suspension of prison term and fines depends mainly on the proper conduct of the two years, the price of all fines and prices, and the completion of VASAP. ”
Di Your license has been canceled for 365 days. If you want a licensed license, the ignition lock is locked for 6 months. ”
There are nearby versions of how long the prison sentence is given and suspended. Several judges will deliver and suspend 360 days. In addition, fines are the norm in a first-class, simple DUI that is not suspended from $ 250 to $ 300.

Good behaviour is often defined in such a way that it does not commit a different crime that would require imprisonment, but the regulation no longer summarizes the issue of isle precise behaviour Iwi. The Virginia courts have ruled that you may violate high-level behaviour even if you are not convicted of violating the directive.
If you have an additional offense, do not fill the entire ASAP or pay your fines, the election must cancel any or all of the suspended prison days or penalties.
Virginia classifies the primary DUI crime as a misdemeanour in the category and applies a satisfactory ranking between $ 250 and $ 2500. The regulation also foresees a one-year license suspension. If the sentence is arrested with a 5% or higher BAC, the penalty will be increased, in which case your sentence can be a five-day prison sentence.
Punishment for the first DUI. In general, your first DUI’s price can be considered a crime offense, and you may be penalized by fines, network carriers, suspensions of permissions and possible probabilities. Nonetheless, other elements can change the level or nature of their prices, leading to stronger sentences or punishments.
KING WILLIAM Virginia categorizes the original DUI offense as a first-class offender, and applies superb rules from $ 250 to $ 2,500. The law also applies a one-month license to 12 months. The penalty increases if you are arrested with a BAC of 15% or better, in which case your punishment may also have at least five days’ imprisonment.

King William Virginia Speeding Ticket Fines

According to the 2012 Fairfax News article, during the Commonwealth 2010 financial year, the courts in Virginia collected $ 238,314,876 from all traffic tickets. Needless to say, $ 238 million means 75,000 miles away in Virginia, and some site visitors are given tickets. According to Fairfax News, evaluating the rating from the AAA Mid-Atlantic, sales of $ 1 million in sales were collected from spontaneous abuses.


When a driving force is stopped by a police officer and, in the end, violates a state law or county/county law, the Virginia Uniforms Meeting (normally known as a Virginia speeding ticket or a Virginia ticket price ticket), be accused of a civil violation. A misdemeanour is a fraudulent charge of twelve months in jail or a maximum of $ 2,500. Violation of a site visitor is against a law that has a maximum penalty of not more than four misdemeanours (currently $ 250) of a criminal or non-criminal class. Some violations resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle may result in a civil penalty. The consequences of an offense of a criminal offense may vary dramatically, depending on the offense of which someone is accused. Some offenses are paid from the workplace of the court by using the High Court of the Virginia Uniform Fine Program. Other violations may be corrected before appearing in court and brushed on the date of the scheduled hearing. Some of these violations require that court voucher prices be assessed and others are no longer made.


The most common traffic-related misdemeanour is careless driving. Careless driving, 1st class misdemeanour, and judicial dissemination, the license of driving force assessed through DMV can lead to a severe suspension of imprisonment and disadvantageous factors. There are currently a dozen different reckless using the regulations in the Virginia Code. One of the most extraordinary reckless driving rates exceeds the speed limit of 20 km / h or more than 80 km / h or more at the speed. Driving under suspension/cancellation is a category 1 fault, which results in a mandatory suspension of a defendant’s driver’s license on a regular basis. Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or tablets is also a 1st class fault, but a detailed discussion on the subject can be stored for another day.


This is one of the most extraordinary questions I have disciplined from friends and friends in discussing criminals and traffic defense. The answer to this query is both easy and complex at the same time; It is based. One of the key elements to consider when buying a site visitor price tag in Virginia is, what is the charge for which one is charged with? As mentioned earlier, a guilty conviction could lead to imprisonment, large fines and/or suspension of equestrian privileges. Some site visitors can be cleared of violations before the courtroom and can be brushed up without trial. If a defendant prefers to pay the visitor’s ticket in advance, he or she may be responsible for the offense responsible for the offense and may be considered exceptional and wages based on price. The pre-price timeline for daily downtime is $ 6 per hour for each mile, and the penalty points from DMV can be assessed accordingly. A choice of whether or not you will hire or hire a lawyer to symbolize you in the courtroom should be based primarily on the potential effects of a conviction. If someone is charged with a violation that can be corrected before the court union, a lawyer will not be asked. However, a price that can afford to be imprisoned should always be subject to the highest point through a defendant.


There are certain factors that could restrict the conviction of a traffic violation or misdemeanor related to an engine car. Many courts noted earlier than in a case. The first has a smooth usage certificate. A decision to find sufficient evidence to speed up a detained defendant may be likely to reduce the rate if the accused has an incredible driving record. A judge will not be inclined to reduce the wages of a person with a score of -11 because he may be a defendant with a score of +5 for the defendant. The last (five or more years) conviction for the same traffic offense will restrict the desire to opt for a price to be amended. Another useful way to gain useful resource

The General Public Court is accused of civic decisions about $ 25,000 worth of money, visitors’ files, and misconduct. There is a controversial exemption for any price that includes a penalty without a few years’ imprisonments or a first class up to $ 2,500 or both. The General Public Court has in addition to the preliminary proceedings in legal cases. Any price that may be sentenced to a few years’ imprisonments is known as a prison.

Payments must be received within 30 days of the conviction or, if unpaid, will be transferred to the vehicle engine section as your driving license suspension.

Appeal notifications must be filed personally within 10 calendar days of your conviction date.

Maryland Personal Injury Laws

In case you’re engaged with individual damage case in Maryland, you’re most likely pondering what state laws may apply to your case. Regardless of whether it’s a protection guarantee that is set out toward settlement or a claim in the state’s respectful court framework, here’s a gander at a couple of key Maryland individual damage laws that could become possibly the most important factor.

Due dates for Maryland Personal Injury Lawsuits

Maryland laws set a due date, known as a legal time limit, on the measure of time you need to go to court and document individual damage claim after a mischance. In Maryland, this due date falls three years after the date of the mishap, as a rule.

It’s basic to remember this due date and keep it as you plan your system for your damage case. Regardless of whether you’re just recording a protection guarantee, you need to abandon yourself a lot of time to have the fallback choice of indicating the case if reasonable damage settlement can’t becometo. In the event that you don’t get your claim recorded before the three-year window closes, you’ll lose the privilege to have the court hear your case.

For damage claims against a state government organization, you have one year to record a formal case, and three years to document a claim. See: Injury Claims Against The Government

Shared Fault Rules in Maryland

It’s not irregular to record a protection case or claim over a mischance, just to hear the individual or organization you documented against contend that you share some blame for what occurred.

At the point when it’s resolved that a harmed individual offers any measure of blame for the occurrence that prompted their wounds, Maryland courts apply a genuinely brutal standard called contributory carelessness, which keeps the harmed individual from gathering harms from some other to blame gathering.

Here’s a model. Assume that you’re driving a couple of miles for each hour over the posted speed restrict, when another driver turns left before you. In the end, your aggregate harms from the mishap are computed at $10,000. Be that as it may, you are observed to be 10 percent to blame for the mishap (since you were speeding), and the other driver is observed to be 90 percent to blame.

Under the contributory carelessness rule followed in Maryland, you will be banned from gathering any cash from the other driver. Despite the fact that the other driver bears the greater part of the blame, your harms are focused out consequently, in light of the fact that your very own carelessness assumed a job in the mishap.

Maryland courts are required to apply this standard at whatever point a harmed gathering is observed to be mostly to blame for a mishap. Be that as it may, protection agents may likewise raise the standard amid settlement arrangements, so it’s shrewd to be rready

Maryland Auto Insurance Laws

Maryland’s collision protection laws depend on a “blame” or “to blame” show. This implies harmed people are allowed to record claims with their very own safety net provider or another driver’s back up plan, or go to court to demonstrate blame and look for harms. Maryland expects drivers to convey at least $30,000 in inclusion for substantial damage per individual and $60,000 per mishap. Much of the time, these points of confinement (or the breaking points of an included driver’s real approach, if higher) might be sufficient to cover your harms.

Proprietor Liability For Injury by a Dog or Other Animal

In 2014, Maryland’s canine nibble laws were essentially redesignd. Under Maryland Courts and Judicial Proceedings Code Annotated Section 3-1901, a proprietor of a canine that is “running everywhere” when it assaults somebody can be held “entirely at risk” for all wounds and different harms coming from the puppy’s forceful conduct.

“Strict obligation” implies no carelessness or any sort of blame with respect to the proprietor should be appeared. In most different circumstances, when a pooch chomps or assaults somebody in Maryland, it makes a “rebuttable assumption that the proprietor knew or ought to have realized that the puppy had awful or risky penchants.” The canine proprietor should demonstrate that he or she didn’t have that information with the end goal to maintain a strategic distance from obligation.

Harm Caps in Maryland

With regards to harms in close to home damage cases, a few states put “tops,” or cutoff points, on specific classes of pay, as non-financial (or “agony and enduring”) harms. Different states top harms in particular sorts of damage cases, similar to those originating from medicinal misbehavior.

Maryland tops non-monetary harms in a wide range of damage cases. These tops change on October 1 of every year to mirror the rate of swelling. For wounds that happened between October 1, 2011 and September 30, 2012, for example, the tops on non-monetary harms in Maryland are as per the following:

$755,000 constrain on non-therapeutic negligence wounds emerging from a similar occurrence,

$1,132,500 constrain on non-therapeutic negligence illegitimate demise claims with at least two recipients,

$695,000 restrain on therapeutic misbehavior wounds emerging from a similar occurrence, and

$868,750 confine on therapeutic misbehavior unjust demise claims with at least two recipients.

The top that applies to a given case relies upon when the damage happened, which is generally estimated from the date of the mischance. For example, in the event that you were harmed on October 2, 2011, the model tops recorded above would apply.

Take in More About Maryland Injury Law

The Code of Maryland contains laws that apply to different damage cases. Vital segments to center around incorporate “Courts and Judicial Proceedings,” which covers damage case methods, and “Transportation,” which covers engine vehicle laws.

Maryland Accident and Injury Laws

With around six million Maryland occupants and tallying, the likelihood of damage is dependably there in The Old Line State. And keeping in mind that nobody can return and fix damage, Maryland individual damage law gives a route to the harmed to be “made entire” once more. Help for wounds ordinarily comes as financial pay, or “harms.” The connections beneath give particular data on legitimate cases emerging from mischances and wounds – including laws identified with the lawful idea of carelessness, and state laws characterizing the day and age in which a claim must be recorded after a mishap or damage.

Find out About Maryland Accident and Injury Laws

Maryland Negligence Laws

A prologue to carelessness law in the province of Maryland and how it factors into most polite cases for mishaps and wounds, with data about near carelessness.

Maryland Civil Statute of Limitations

Diagram of Maryland’s legal time limit for common activities, which are time limits forced on forthcoming offended parties with the end goal to protect the respectability of observers and proof.

Maryland Accident and Injury Laws

Maryland Asbestos Regulations

Maryland Car Accident Compensation Laws

Maryland Car Accident Report Basics

Maryland Car Accident Settlement Process and Timeline

Maryland Civil Statute of Limitations Laws

Maryland Negligence Laws

Maryland Workers’ Compensation Laws

Maryland Wrongful Death Laws

Agony and Suffering Damages in Maryland

What to Do After a Truck Accident in Maryland


What is a Misdemeanor Charge in Virginia?
Compared to a felony crime or charge, misdemeanor charge or crime is less severe, if both are compared to each other. Misdemeanor charges are usually defined as “smaller criminal” act. Although Misdemeanor is less harsh than felonies, there are infractions below Misdemeanor charges. Once you are charged with any misdemeanor charge, you are left with an option to plead your guilty or not guilty and fight for the case. Another way is to accept the charges and look for the lesser charges, fines or penalties ordered by the Court. Misdemeanor charges are classified into four different classes. All four classes have different penalties and fines; depends on the crime a person commits. All misdemeanor charges are for different crimes, they might contain the same penalties, but the crimes have been classified into four different categories. What are they? What crimes do they contain? Here is the list of the following misdemeanor charges and the crimes involved;
1. Class 1 Misdemeanors
As per the felonies, Misdemeanor holds the same classification of the categories. Number 1 is the most serious, and then it goes less harsh and less severe with charges, penalties, and fines. Class 1 misdemeanor can be punished by:
• Maximum 12 months in jail
• $2,500 fine
• Can be charged with both
What crimes can lead you to be charged with Class 1 Misdemeanor? Well, carrying a non-licensed gun or without a permit can be a big issue and class 1 misdemeanor is directly applicable to the person. Domestic violence is also included in the class 1 category and can be punished by the mentioned charges.
2. Class 2 Misdemeanors
Unlike Class 1 punishments, Class 2 Misdemeanors have less harsh penalties or charges.
• Maximum 6 months in jail
• $1,000 maximum fine
• Can be charged with both
What crimes fall under class 2 misdemeanors? Reckless driving is the most common issue which happens in Virginia, falls into the category of Misdemeanors. Another crime is to carry drug Paraphernalia, falls under the same category.
3. Class 3 Misdemeanors
Class 3 misdemeanors contain the following crimes under the banner:
• Unintentional Damage to Property or Monuments
Class 3 doesn’t have any jail period. An individual can only pay for the fine and walk forward. $500 maximum of the fine can be charged if you commit the class 3 misdemeanor crime.
4. Class 4 Misdemeanors
Class 4 is the least harsh or severe category there is, and also the last. There isn’t much harsh penalties or charges, and also no jail time like Class 3.
• Public Intoxication
• Drinking While Driving
These two crimes fall under the category of class 4 misdemeanors. It can lead you to the maximum fine of $250.

penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Virginia

According to the Virginia Act §46-89-894, “the duty of a motor vehicle to stop, etc., is considered to be due to an accident involving injury or death or damage to property; punishment”

Virginia Law for Charges and Execution Fees

According to the Virginia government,

1. The propulsion force should not escape from the accident scene. The nation of Virginia has called for it
Find more legal articles

Type any phrase (s)
Worry about the motive to stop and live on the scene at the same time as ensuring that visitors do not miss.

2. If the victim needs to have a clinical treatment, the driver’s authority should help with a referral to the health center.

3. The driver is legally responsible for reporting his name, driving license, countering the number of vehicle registrations to Law Enforcement or Virginia police officers or the propulsion that has been attacked.

Four in the case of accidental injuries, the driving force can be attributed to the government or the relevant state police to deal with accidents resulting from the accident. As they are fast enough because they have enough power, they have to document the documents to the authorities to track down the male or female, or the driver or perpetrator who is injured.

Five If a property is monitored, the driver must show some attempts to track the owner of that feature. If the force is not capable of detecting the owner of the license, it is responsible for mentioning all contact information. In addition, the driver must visit the police station and report a random case within 24 hours of the complexity of fate.

Make no mistake leaving the scene of the incident

In the state of Virginia, if the motive force that happens in a twist of a car of fate, worries the accident scene, they commit an illegal crime. The driver is at risk of staging the scene, providing any useful resources and assistance, and providing the application records using the government’s regulations. Regarding the regulations of the Virginia kingdom, serious action is taken against drivers and drivers, regardless of accidental targets. The Virginia regulations will be responsive both to passengers and to the driver. Even if there may be a passenger with propulsion, the passenger will participate in the case and will do so.

The penalty and the duty to succeed and execute a crime will be different:

I. Are you driving or traveling?
Second, is the vehicle unattended or unattended?
iii Whether the destruction of the property is estimated to be more or less than a targeted amount,
iv It is damaged or useless.

By virtue of the terms, the Virginia property returns legitimate legal prices or treaties to those who are concerned about the costs and expenses incurred. The defendant can be punished for being fined, sentenced to prison, reinstatement of force and non-use of all privileges.

Driving without insurance in Virginia

In the territory of Virginia, you should buy auto insurance that at any rate meets the state’s base inclusion prerequisites: real damage/passing of one individual $25,000, real damage/demise of at least two people $50,000 and property harm of $20,000. Driving without protection in Virginia can result in serious punishments, contingent upon the condition. In case you’re observed to drive an auto without appropriate protection set up, and you have not chosen to pay the $500 uninsured engine vehicle (UMV) expense, which enables you to drive uninsured for a decided time allotment, you could be sentenced for a Class 3 wrongdoing, compelled to pay a $500 fine and subject to losing your driver’s permit, vehicle enlistment and tags. Driving uninsured can likewise bring about getting request to keep up a proof of protection confirmation (SR-22) on record for a long time.

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) screens protection inclusion through an electronic protection check program. In the event that the DMV establishes that you have been driving without the fitting protection inclusion, you are liable to a $500 fine, the loss of driving benefits and a suspension of your enrollment plates. What’s more, you can be indicted for a Class 3 wrongdoing for promptly neglecting to surrender your tags and purposely driving uninsured (except if the vehicle enlistment has been deactivated). On the off chance that no record of risk protection is discovered, you’ll have 30 days to submit evidence of protection before you get fined.

On the off chance that you neglect to display substantial confirmation of dynamic protection when asked for by law implementations, for example, at activity stops or at the scene of a mishap, you can confront extreme punishments. For every offense, in the event that you don’t have satisfactory inclusion or have not paid the uninsured engine vehicle expense, you are accused of a Class 3 wrongdoing. Being rebuffed for a class 3 wrongdoing allegation in Virginia implies your driver’s permit and vehicle enrollment benefits are suspended and a most extreme fine of $500 will be evaluated. With the end goal to have your driving and vehicle enlistment benefits restored, you are required to pay the $500 fine, purchase auto insurance in Virginia, and request that your safety net provider document a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for a long time, and in addition pay a $145 reestablishment expense.

Virginia state law gives drivers who are reluctant or unfit to buy vehicle protection the alternative to pay the $500 UMV charge which satisfies your money related obligation and enables you to drive uninsured for a year. It doesn’t furnish you with any protection assurance; it just gives you the opportunity to drive uninsured at your very own hazard, without confronting any punishments. On the off chance that you needn’t bother with the full a year, the expense can be allocated for a shorter day and age. This expense terminates in the meantime as your enrollment and must be paid again at restoration, or when the a year are up.

In the event that you have been observed to drive without protection and you have not paid the UMV charge, the Virginia governing body expresses that you should be allowed an authoritative hearing before you can be punished or suspended. Before a suspension becomes effective, Virginia drivers have the privilege to an authoritative hearing to demonstrate and put forth their defense why the punishment ought not be authorized. Any ask for a managerial hearing must be gotten inside 180 days of the date recorded on the notice of suspension. Extra guidelines can likewise be found on the notice.

Fairfax Virginia prostitution and solicitation law

Prostitution is the crime in which the two parties do sexual activity for some trade purpose or compensation. The act is illegal as someone may force other to do sexual interaction against some profit. Usually, film star takes this step to get the film from the famous director or get fame in fil industry. Both the members are liable for penalty according to US laws. To force someone to involve in sexual activity through emails or other internet sources come in solicitation crime. Both prostitution and solicitation are illegal. The state’s law prohibits any act of sex for gaining some profit, for trade purpose or engaging in an activity for money.

Fairfax Virginia prostitution and solicitation law

Virginia prostitution and solicitation laws prohibit these unlawful acts. The state law does not allow anyone to involve in such activities. The penalty for prostitution crime lies under the class 1 misdemeanor. The criminal may get jail punishment of about 12 months and have to a fine up to $2500 depending on the severity of the crime.

In a similar way, the solicitation law has defined the specific penalty and punishment for this law. The criminal has to face the prison up to 12 months with the fine up to $2500.

The penalty is charged on controlling, charging, managing, supervising, or in association with other in prostitution crime.

The third party is also known as pimping or pandering also comes under this crime. The person who shows involvement in a meeting of two parties for this act is liable for the prostitution charge.

Lawyer for prostitution and solicitation case

The case may become complicated and the court may charge with heavy duty fine. In order to make it easy and get some reduction in the solicitation and prostitution charges, it is good to hire the lawyer. SRIS group of law in Fairfax Virginia have a team of efficient lawyers that provide you the services related to the case. The main duty of the lawyer is to discuss the case with the client. We do not involve any secretary for discussion. Our aim is to discuss everything with the client face to face to reach to the depth of the case.

It is your responsibility to describe all the history of your involvement in this crime, as well as the different aspect of the case.  Both parties are liable for the penalties and charges so we try to make a case in away so that court can make some light decision and reduce your penalties as well as prison time.

Contact to Law offices of SRIS P.C today and find the best solution for your case. we assure you the good services and help in resolving the case in the way you want. Come to our office from Monday to Friday at 9 am to 5 pm. You will find the lawyer for your case, who will discuss, make plan and work according to schedule to get the favorable results.

First DWI Offense in VA

The charge of first DWI offense is considered as a serious crime in VA that entails for strict punishments. These penalties for the first DWI offense in VA can impact on both your freedom and financial condition. In addition to that, if you are convicted against the first charge of DWI in VA, it may impact your ability to find employment of sustain your current job particularly if your employment is subject to clean criminal record as the offense of DWI is considered as a criminal offense and will be added to your criminal record for your entire life. As a side effect of your first DWI offense in VA, your insurance company will consider you as a huge liability and hence will increase your insurance premiums and in some cases you may end up completely losing your car insurance.

In VA, a first offense of DWI is considered as a class 1 misdemeanor. Simply put, VA categorize a first DWI offense among the most serious type of criminal misdemeanor. Consequently the first offense of DWI in VA will be punishable by a minimum fine of $250 than can be as high as $2500 based on your blood alcohol content (BAC) level and further aggravating factors. In addition to a heavy fine, your first DWI offense can result into an active jail sentence of up to 1 year. With a BAC level under 0.15 for first DWI offense may not be considered for a jail sentence if there are no further aggravating factors such as accident mainly resulting in injuries.

In case you are convicted for a first offense of DWI with a BAC level above 0.15, VA law will require you to serve minimum 5 days in jail. Further elevated level of BAC above 0.20 will lead to 10 days in jail. This can have a severe impact of a person’s ability to sustain his/her employment. In addition to these fines and possible jail time, the first offense of DWI will also result in an administrative suspension of driver’s license for a period of 7 days on being charged and for a period of 1 year in case you get convicted. For a first time offense of DWI in VA, you can request a restricted license that may be granted with certain conditions such as ignition interlock system and enrollment in Alcohol Safety Action Program.